Womens Tennis - Current World Rankings

1        Angelique Kerber 

15      Petra Kvitova 
35      Ekaterina Makarova 
36      Lucie Safarova 
51      Misaki Doi 
52      Kristyna Pliskova 
83      Varvara Lepchenko 
90      Irina Khromacheva 

Lefthanded Tennis 2016-17

Rafael Nadal won his first grand slam championship at The French Open in 2005  Since then he has won The French Open eight more times, plus the Australian Open once, Wimbledon twice, and the US Open twice.  His fourteen total Grand Slam Championships are tied for second most with Pete Samprass behind Roger Federer with eighteen.

Prior to Nadal, the last lefthander to win a Grand Slam Mens Singles title was Goran Ivanisovec in 2001 to win a grand slam event.  No other lefthander has won a major, and no other lefthanders has ranked higher than Nadal since he emerged in 2005.  Nadal is currently ranked as #7 on the 2017 mens tennis tour.

Angelique Kerber is currently the number #1 ranked womens tennis player in the world. She won her first tournament and reached #5 in the rankings in 2012, and has gradually improved until her breakthrough season of 2016, with victories at the US Open and the Australian Open, and reaching the finals before losing at Wimbledon.

Petra Kvitova has won the title at Wimbledon in 2011 and 2014, and achieved the rank of #2 after her first Grand Slam victory and has remained in the top ten every year through 2016.  She is currently ranked #14 on the 2017 womens' tour, in spite of not playing yet this season as she recovers from an off-season injury.

Prior to Kvitova winning Wimbledon in 2011, Monica Seles was the last lefthander to win a womens grand slam event when she won the Australian Open in 1996


Articles and Information for and about Lefthanded People

​Mens Tennis – Current World Rankings
7              Rafael Nadal
24        Albert Ramos-Vinolas
29           Gilles Muller
30           Fernando Verdasco
33           Mischa Zvervev
36           Feliciano Lopez
51           Donald Young
54           Jiri Vesely
57           Federico Delbonis
61           Martin Kirzan
65        Adrian Mannarino
            Thomas Bellucci
75        Horacio Zeballos